AASM High College Video Contest award winners for 2024

Congratulations to the three students selected as the winners of the 2024 AASM High College Video Contest! This year’s contest inviting by serving to kids realize why sleep is serious to their success either in college, effectively being, security, sports activities, relationships, or one other space. Contestants private been asked to focal level on one component of a kids’ life. Alongside with a balanced diet and in style explain, sleep is never any doubt one of many pillars of a healthy standard of living. Getting the sleep that your body needs is wanted on your effectively being, effectively-being and mood.

The American Academy of Sleep Remedy recommends that kids between 13 and 18 years of age must peaceful sleep 8 to 10 hours per night on a in style foundation to advertise optimum effectively being. However, CDC knowledge inform that 73% of U.S. highschool students report snoozing fewer than 8 hours on an practical college night.

Given the occurrence of chronic sleep deprivation amongst students, it’s wanted to rob its adverse effects on bodily and mental effectively-being, tutorial and athletic achievements, as effectively as mood. These videos effectively hiss younger of us on the importance of sleep!

The annual contest is start to highschool students within the U.S. who private permission from a guardian or guardian and approval from a sponsoring teacher at their college. Extra than 70 videos private been submitted from students across the U.S. Each and every entry became evaluated for its originality and video quality, as effectively as the appropriateness, relevance, and accuracy of its message.

Sequence of Winner(s):

  • The winner of the Most Inventive category became chosen by a panel of judges (consultants, in conjunction with AASM inventive workers, Chris Hodge and Greg Padgett (Division of Elegant Arts, Naperville Central High College), Hyder Abadin (Aperture Videography LLC) and Linda Livorsi (Thought One Media) based fully fully upon originality, accuracy, and quality of the video.
  • The winner of the Most Informative category became chosen by a panel of judges (AASM member sleep remedy consultants) based fully fully upon accuracy, relevance, appropriateness, and execution of the theme.
  • The winner of the Most Long-established category became chosen through social media engagement right through the month following close of the competition.
  • Each and every winner will receive $750; the teacher linked to the entry will rep a $100 gift card.


Most Inventive
Flowers Yuan, Ninth grade
Krista Andrew Fischer, teacher
Westlake High college
Westlake Village, California

Most Informative
Shreya Balaji, 12th grade
Cheryl Abreu, teacher
Coppell High College
Coppell, Texas

Most Long-established
Wilfred Shipley, Ninth grade
Robin Morriss, teacher
Winston Churchill High College
San Antonio, Texas

The following students bought honorable mention as the runner up in every of the three classes:

Most Inventive – Honorable Display
John Exterkamp

Most Informative – Honorable Display
Flowers Yuan

Most Long-established – Honorable Display
Santiago Wingrove

In regards to the American Academy of Sleep Remedy

Established in 1975, the AASM advances sleep care and enhances sleep effectively being to toughen lives. The AASM has a blended membership of 12,000 accredited sleep facilities and individuals, in conjunction with physicians, scientists and other effectively being care consultants who fancy sufferers with sleep disorders. Because the chief within the sleep field, the AASM objects standards and promotes excellence in sleep remedy effectively being care, training, and review (aasm.org).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *